Thursday, April 19, 2012

Cluster Log -- SQL 2008

In windows 2003 failover clustering, cluster service will maintain a cluster log file on all individual nodes. These files are located in "%systemroot%\Cluster folder, the name of file is cluster.log.

From Windows 2008 onwards, cluster log  mechanism has been changed and all the cluster events are handled by windows event tracing (ETW). The cluster.log file no longer exists on window 2008 servers.
All cluster log files are in .etl format, to read those files we need to run the below commands to generate text files. The etl files are stored under this directory C:\Windows\System32\winevt\Logs

cluster [clustername] log /gen /copy:"path"

cluster [clustername] log /gen /node="node name"

cluster [] log /gen /copy:"c:\temp\cluster.log" -- It generates logs from both the nodes, if you want generate log from specific node, then you can specify /node switch.

1 comment:

  1. Resources like the one you mentioned here will be very useful to me! I will post a link to this page on my blog. I am sure my visitors will find that very useful.